UPDATED: TSN Confirm upcoming Air Dates for IBEW presentation of the 2020 Canadian Superbike Championships

(TSN have just provided additional dates for 2020 episodes three and four)

The Sports Network, TSN, have announced the initial broadcast dates for the third and fourth 2020 episodes of the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers-sponsored Canada Superbike motorcycle road racing Championship series.  

This week’s episode three features the Liqui Moly Pro Sport Bike middleweight race from last August at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park near Bowmanville, ON.

Next week’s fourth 2020 TSN Episode returns with the third Pro Superbike race of 2020, the opening of two events for the Feature class at “old Mosport,” C.T.M.P.

All listed broadcast times are Eastern Standard Time (EST) and subject to change without notice.

Broadcast Schedule:

Liqui Moly Pro Sport Bike, Canadian Tire Motorsport Park

2020 Episode 3 (remaining):

Thursday October 29  12:30pm EST, 9:30am PST on TSN 5

Friday October 30  4:30pm EST, 1:30pm PST on TSN 1 and TSN 3

Friday October 30   4:30pm EST, 1:30pm PST on TSN

 

Pro Superbike Feature, race three, Canadian Tire Motorsport Park 

2020 Episode 4:

Tuesday November 3  1:30pm EST, 10:30am PST on TSN 1 and TSN 3

Wednesday November 4  1:00pm EST, 10:00am PST on TSN 4 and TSN 5

Thursday November 5   2:30pm EST, 11:30am PST on TSN 2   

Thursday November 5  4:00pm EST, 1:00pm PST on TSN 3

 

The details for the broadcast schedule for the deciding round of the Superbike Series staged at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park near Bowmanville, ON, also in August, will be announced shortly. 

The Covid19 pandemic cancelled the planned 2020 CSBK program, and until July it was not likely that any CSBK events could take place this season, with or without spectators. Eventually an agreement with Track Day and motorcycle Racing School Provider Pro 6 Cycle of Toronto, ON, allowed CSBK organizers Professional Motorsports Productions to stage an abbreviated season, focused on the premier category.

A successful opening one-day event at Calabogie Motorsport Park in July allowed for the traditional season-ender in August at C.T.M.P. to take place. 

National, Regional and Municipal guidelines ensured that spectator attendance was not permitted during any 2020 CSBK National events.

Episode three’s “old Mosport” Liqui Moly Pro Sport Bike National round was billed as a much-anticipated rematch between reigning class Champ Will Hornblower of Sarnia on his Yamaha YZF-R6, and Calabogie 2020 National opener victor Sebastien Tremblay of Laval, QC, aboard a Kawasaki ZX-6R Ninja.  Hornblower opted not to race at the July Calabogie season opener.

In the Superbike Feature class, Canada General Warranty Kawasaki’s Jordan Szoke of Lynden, ON, the 13-time Canadian Superbike Champ, won the opening two races at Calabogie.  Race two runner-up Jeff Williams of Kingston, ON, fought for the lead with Szoke at Calabogie, and was expected to challenge at C.T.M.P. aboard a new BMW S1000RR.  Unfortunately, Williams was injured in a pre-race Track Day session and is expected to eventually make a full recovery from this incident.

Joining Szoke at the front of the field at C.T.M.P. were the BMW’s of Beaconsfield, QC-based Michael Leon and rookie Pro Samuel Guerin of Quebec City.  Suzuki’s Trevor Daley missed C.T.M.P. due to COVID19 quarantine requirements, so previous C.T.M.P. Feature race victor Kenny Riedmann of Belfountain, ON, handled the factory-backed GSX-R1000.