Flashback Friday: Tres Does Uno

During the winter of 2022, CSBK will celebrate Suzuki’s 2021 National Manufacturer’s Title with a look back at the history of Suzuki’s production-based racers.  Each Friday will offer a glimpse into the impressive legacy of Suzuki’s success.

Image 8: Friday, February 25

Suzuki were beyond dominant in the 2002 Parts Canada Superbike Championship, sweeping all three Pro Feature classes.  Following the final 2002 event at Shannonville Motorsport Park at the start of September, Suzuki Canada’s three official racers share the spoils.

(Left to Right):

Francis Martin won the International Motorcycle SuperShow Pro Open Sport Bike class for the “A” Coors Lite Racing Fast Company squad.  Martin left Kawasaki at the end of 2000 to lead the development efforts with the new GSX-R1000 with the Scott Miller lead squad.  Martin also won the Formula USA event at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park on-track, only to lose his win post-race after a tire issue at the Dyno.

Jordan Szoke dominated the 2002 season for Coors Lite Racing Fast Company Suzuki, even though he was scheduled to race in the U.S. in 2002.  In a last-minute deal, he returned to Canada and by round two at Race City Speedway in Calgary, was installed in the “A” squad on the best GSX-R1000s alongside Martin.  From there, Szoke won five straight races to earn his second career National number one plate, following his first success for Kawasaki in 1998.

Western star Clint McBain took the Blackfoot Suzuki team to the Yoshimura Pro Sport Bike crown with the GSX-R600 in 2002.  Starting out in a snowmobile trailer in 2001, the Calgary-based squad soon took over as the “A” Coors Lite Racing Blackfoot squad, and the era of the big tents and big trucks was confirmed.