R.A.C.E. SuperSeries Round 4 Report

Hot Battles on Pro Track At Round 4

Shannonville Motorsport Park, August 2-4 - For the first time this season, the R.A.C.E SuperSeries moved to the very fast 2.47km Pro Circuit and riders and race fans were treated to some decisive decisions.

Newcastle racer Eli Daccache continues to dominate the Pro Superbike ranks with yet another run away win. Daccache looks to retain his #1 title for another season and is in place to sweep the series. Daccache jumped out to an early lead but almost tossed it all away in a scary wobble entering Allen’s Corner. Miraculously, Daccache held on and his Yamaha R1 corrected itself and charged off for the win. Behind him the battle ensued for second place bragging rights with Ivan Babic enjoying his best position of the year landing on the second step of the podium. In third was Michael van Ek rebounding with good race after a Saturday crash. Fourth place went to local rider Eros Mukja who has been battling mechanical issues all season. Fifth went to Reiner Griese.

The Pro 600 Sportbike final turned out to be a barn- burner, much to the delight of Shannonville race fans. Guest racer and owner of Pro 6 Cycle/Dunlop Tire Sandy Noce mounted up in anger for the first time since 2008 and had a race long battle with eventual winner and local racer Mike Raniowski. Noce chased down the “Take Mike For Granite” sponsored rider for the entire contest, briefly taking the lead on the high speed Fabi back straight, only to lose the advantage on the next lap. Raniowski managed to hold off Noce’s advances for the rest of the race to take the chequered flag and although Noce finished in second place he would not receive the position or the points due to his guest rider status. Michael van Ek was awarded second place instead, with Kingston’s Chris Fehr taking the third step on the podium.

In Amateur Superbike action, Jared Walker had another good outing, regaining ground after finishing second at Round 3. Walker got a good jump at the start flag and ran away with the race win, well ahead of second place finisher Edward Rudowski. In third was a hard charging Richard Diaz just ahead of fourth place finisher Todd Ferguson. Tyler Brewer had a good outing to finish in fifth.

Jared Walker also had a good run in TTR Ignitions Amateur 600 Sportbike action. This time, Walker was chased to the finish line by Richard Diaz, who had to settle for the runner up spot. Todd Ferguson finished in third with Tyler Moore crossing the finish line just shy of a podium spot. In fifth was Spencer Gill.

Eli Daccache also enjoyed a win in the 10-lap Sprint Cup race. Daccache romped to the decision handily leaving the rest of the field to battle for second. Mike Raniowski held off the challengers to take second with Eros Mukja in third. Ivan Babic had a long comeback from behind to take fourth with Chris Fehr in fifth.

Spencer Gill got his first Amateur win, in Heavyweight Sportsman action. The young father to be had a brilliant outing to charge into the early lead and hold on for a well-deserved victory. Kyle Blakely had another good race to finish on the second step of the podium with Tyler Brewer in third. Fourth went to Kayla Hannaford while Andy Dickinson took fifth.

In Lightweight Sportsman racing, Cameron Walker took the early lead and held it to be the first to see the checkered fabric, In second was John Taverner with third going to Chris Fehr. John Crook rode to a respectable fourth with Mike Raniowski in fifth.

The Mopar Expresslane Lightweight Production race saw the Senior and Junior divisions battle it out for the entire 10 lap contest. When the dust settled it was John Taverner who took the Senior Division ahead of John Crook and Brian Peterson. The Junior Division saw Patrick Barnes take another victory just ahead of Tommy Gillis who had entered his first race. In third was Huntsville racer Cindy Bucholtz.

Hans van Sluewen continues to prosper in Lightweight Twins racing. Van Sluewen had a race long battle with Cameron Walker who had to settle for second place. Jacob Black had a great outing to take third with Alan Burns and J.P. Schroeder taking forth and fifth respectively.

Racing resumes at the final round on September 20th. to 22nd. at Shannonville Motorsport Park.

For Shannonville Motorsport Park, Don Empey

From a press release