Scott sweeps Canadian Mini GP Warm-Up Round in Lombardy

Ten-year old Lincoln Scott of Calgary, AB wasted no time making a name for himself at the Canadian Mini GP exhibition round in Lombardy, May 13-14, winning both races in the feature Ohvale Canada Cup class. 

Scott was making his debut in the series as it prepares for its first official weekend of racing in British Columbia next month, and immediately established himself as the inaugural championship favourite in his first visit to the track.

The youngster led start-to-finish and was virtually unchallenged in race one, beating last year’s MiniSBK runner-up Ben Hardwick by a comfortable margin, with the 13-year-old bringing it home in second. 

Another west coast star, 13-year-old Treston Morrison of Calgary, AB, would complete the podium in third, while Michael Galvis finished fourth ahead of first-ever CSBK Scholarship Award winner Addyson McQuaig and 12-year-old Jack Dunwoodie. 

Scott had a tougher time in race two, trailing fellow ten-year-old Galvis early on, before snatching the lead on lap three and fending him off the rest of the way. Galvis would hang on to second, with Hardwick tacking the final podium spot from Dunwoodie. 

Morrison was absent from the second race after a huge crash in an earlier support duel, though he was thankfully unhurt and was missing only because of damage to his bike.

In the MiniSBK support classes, it was Giuseppe Calasciabetta who convincingly won the Moto-1 category aboard a Bucci 190SM, while Scott added to his weekend haul with a win in the Moto-2 ranks.

Dunwoodie would pilot his Super Sonic Yamaha TTR110E to a victory in the Moto-3 class, while the Moto-4 battle proved to be an especially exciting one with Rossi Darmanin winning from six-year-old Evelyn Scott, also from Alberta.

The veteran Calasciabetta would fend off his son, Jason, in the Sport-1 category, both on Bucci machines, while Mason Archer was victorious in the Sport-2 class. Jonathan Massignani would take the GP-1 trophy, while Galvis and Julie Lalonde won the GP-2 and GP-3 races, respectively.

The second round – but the first official, points-paying action – will take place at the Greg Moore Raceway in Chilliwack, BC next month, June 24-25.